aboxof.space Independent comparison

Agent harnesses

Independent comparison of AI agent harnesses, checked 3 Oct 2026 (Australia/Perth). Alphabetical. Not a ranking.

View 3 Oct 2026 Rows 7 harnesses Cells maker docs only

Feature comparison

Harness Runs Steer with Skills Scheduled work MCP Pay
Claude CodeAnthropic Your machine, plus browser and cloud sessions. Terminal, IDE, desktop app, and the web share one engine. Terminal, IDE, desktop app, browser. Yes Yes. Cloud routines, desktop schedules, and an in-session loop. Yes Most surfaces need a Claude subscription or an Anthropic Console account. The terminal, VS Code, and JetBrains also support third-party providers. Dollar prices are not copied here.
CodexOpenAI Your local repository in the terminal. The cloud docs also say you can start a cloud task from the CLI. Terminal. Interactive, or codex exec for scripts and CI. Yes. Skills and plugins. not stated Yes Sign in with ChatGPT or another method the CLI offers. Which models you get depends on plan. Dollar prices are not copied here.
Grok BotCursor A persistent computer in Cursor’s cloud. Desktop (macOS, Windows, Linux) and iOS apps are clients. Chat in the desktop and iOS apps. Work continues with the laptop closed. Yes Yes. Routines. not stated. Plugins are documented. Included with every paid individual Cursor plan and the Cursor Teams plan, or by linking individual SuperGrok, SuperGrok Plus, or SuperGrok Heavy. Dollar prices are not copied here.
Hermes AgentNous Research Laptop, VPS, or documented serverless backends (local, Docker, SSH, Daytona, Modal, Singularity, Vercel Sandbox). CLI, desktop app, and many chat platforms through one gateway. Yes. The project describes a learning loop that writes and revises skills. Yes. Built-in cron. Yes A price for Hermes itself is not stated. Optional Nous Portal subscription covers a model plus the Tool Gateway tools.
OpenClawOpenClaw Foundation Your machine or a server. One Gateway process. No hosted service in the middle. Chat apps (Discord, Slack, Telegram, WhatsApp, Signal, iMessage, and others), Control UI, CLI. Yes Yes. Cron, hooks, and webhooks. not stated on the overview. Channel, provider, and tool plugins are. No paid tier. MIT licensed. You bring a model provider key.
OpenCodeOpenCode project Your machine. Terminal, desktop app, or IDE extension. Terminal TUI, desktop app, IDE extension. Yes. SKILL.md files, loaded on demand. Project instructions are an AGENTS.md file. not stated Yes. Changelog records MCP behavior. The client does not require a subscription. The site says free models are included, or connect any provider. Optional OpenCode Go is $10/month; Go Plus is $40/month.
PiPi project Your terminal. Also print/JSON, RPC, and a TypeScript SDK. Package @earendil-works/pi-coding-agent. Terminal. You can also steer a running agent, or drive it via RPC or the SDK. Yes. Skills, prompt templates, and extensions. Built-in sub-agents: no (the project says it skips them). not stated Yes. Built in as of the 29 Sep 2026 notes. A price for Pi itself is not stated. The site says you authenticate with API keys or OAuth, including local models.
Yes / no only where the maker says so. “not stated” means this check did not find it on the linked docs, not that the feature is absent.

Recent updates

Harness Date From the maker
Claude Code 17–21 Aug 2026 Week 34 notes: the /design skill in the CLI and desktop, and a Concise output style (v2.1.234–v2.1.239). What’s new, week 34. The changelog page lists later bullets without dates on the copy checked.
Codex 1 Oct 2026 Codex CLI 0.160.0. Changelog
Codex 29 Sep 2026 GPT-6.1 Sol in Codex, described as near-Astra performance at a lower cost than Astra. Availability depends on plan. Changelog
Grok Bot — No dated update found. On 31 Aug 2026 a Cursor staff reply said there isn’t an official changelog. Forum thread
Hermes Agent 31 Aug 2026 v0.21.0 (v2026.8.31), called the Pantheon release: Bot Mode in the desktop app, cron memory, live subagent steering. GitHub release
OpenClaw v2026.9.8 Adds GPT-6.1 Sol through the OpenAI provider for accounts that have it. The release page does not print a separate calendar date. Release notes
OpenCode 30 Sep 2026 v1.18.34: session identity headers on model requests, and macOS binary signing. Changelog
OpenCode 28 Sep 2026 v1.18.33: Cloudflare AI Gateway timeouts, MCP browser-launch errors, redacted debug config. Changelog
Pi 1 Oct 2026 Pi 1.0.0: fullscreen TUI by default, leaner codemode, image generation in codemode, Radius sign-in. Changelog
Pi 30 Sep 2026 Pi 0.99.2: MCP servers with default codemode exposure stay out of the first prompt. Changelog